Frets on Fire: freeware patterned after Guitar Hero


Frets on Fire according to the game ‘s developers “is a game of musical skill and fast fingers. The aim of the game is to play guitar with the keyboard as accurately as possible.” It’s basically a freeware version of Guitar Hero where your computer keyboard acts as the “guitar” controller. Check out the short video of my son giving it a test run on his Vista computer. Notice how he is holding his keyboard like a guitar- right hand pressing the enter key in time with his fingers on the left hand pressing the function keys (I tried downloading the MacOSX version, but it caused my intel based iMac to crash…) Update: check out my post on how we got FOF to work on my iMac.

In addition to the pre-loaded songs, you can also “compose” new songs with the game’s built in song editor and Ogg Vorbis files. I had a blast trying to play Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit”. It’s surprisingly well done for a freeware program.

3 responses to “Frets on Fire: freeware patterned after Guitar Hero

  1. Eric,

    Found your site by visiting my friend Owen’s at the digitalmusic educator. You’ve got some great posts… keep it up! I was unaware of this software and will be checking it out.

    Best wishes for continued success as a music blogger!

    – J. Pisano -mustech.net

  2. Ok, I have to apologize as I don’t know your name! I thought it was Eric based on the post you left at Owen’s… I see now you we’re quoting from a book of your last post! Sorry! I couldn’t find the information on your site…

    the link to the The Seattle Pacific University Men’s Choir page is not working of which I thought for sure I’d get your name! 🙂

    Regardless, apologies!

    J. Pisano -mustech.net

  3. Pingback: Frets on Fire: we are shredding on our Mac « mystro2b

Leave a Reply

